Serenity: A Town in the Old West

A Weird Western Saga in 13 Chapters

Jason Chirevas
About the author

Caleb C. Crud
Caleb C. Crud here, introductioning you to our latest serial...and what a fancy piece it is. Y'might even call it ambitious. 'Course ol' Caleb feels right at home, 'cause this here's what y'might call a Western, set in the town of Serenity. But the place is a mite misnamed, if'n y'don't mind my saying. In fact, it can be a down right creepy little burg -- told ya it felt like home t'me! Hee hee!

A lot of things ain't what they seem. Bad stuff happens...strange stuff...unnatural stuff...and a lot o' people have secrets...and the Marshal don't like no one nosing about the Outskirts of the town. Oh -- did I make mention of Marshal Boxer? Tin badge or not...he may be neck deep in the worst of it. Least, that's what a plucky gal name o' Raven Clark and one Nolan Paige -- reporters both -- suspect. But provin' it may cost 'em their' their sanity...

If you ever watch them there television (don't cotton to it mee-self -- I tried hookin' up the cable...but it just bent over my poor old rabbit ears!) and if'n you liked shows like the Adventures of Brisco County Jr. and American Gothic, then you might just take a shine to ol' Serenity -- 'cept it ain't going for the camp o' Brisco (though it does have a sly wit about it)...and it don't fall apart the way American Gothic done. Serenity reads like a series itself. It's got a big cast o' characters y'kinda get t'know -- town folks y'know -- and some of the chapters kind o' tell their own stories...even as the mystery builds from chapter t' chapter... right up to a whiz dozer of a climax.

There's a bit o' profanity and good stuff like that -- just so's ya know.

So, welcome to's a nice place to visit...but you wouldn'a wanna die there...

Episode 1: Meetings (March 19, 2006)

Episode 2: Questions (March 26, 2006)

Episode 3: Chamber (April 2, 2006)

Episode 4: Riders (April 23, 2006)

Episode 5: Duel (April 30, 2006)

Episode 6: Crossroads (May 7, 2006)

Episode 7: Fire! - Part 1 (May 14, 2006)

Episode 8: Fire! - Part 2 (May 21, 2006)

Episode 9: Grief (May 28, 2006)

Episode 10: Veritas (June 4, 2006)

Episode 11: Resolve (June 11, 2006)

Episode 12: Trio (June 18, 2006)

Episode 13: Battle! (Conclusion) (June 25, 2006)


Back to Pulp and Dagger Webzine